New deans at Hamline, Wash U.

Two deans will assume their new positions in May. 

Jean Holloway will become the 11th dean of Hamline University School of Law in May. Holloway was named dean of Hamline Law in January, assuming leadership of the school’s strategic direction for academic and related programs, recruitment and retention efforts, management of fiscal resources and fundraising, and serving as a university officer in collaborative work on governance, strategic planning, fund development, and institutional assessments.

Nancy Staudt will take over as the new dean at Washington University in St. Louis, effective May 15. Previously the vice dean for faculty and academic affairs at the University of Southern California Gould School of Law, she served as a professor at Washington University from 200 to 2006.

Staudt is a nationally renowned scholar in tax, tax policy and empirical legal studies. Staudt also holds an appointment as a professor of law and public policy at the USC Price School of Public Policy. In August 2012, Staudt was appointed academic director of the newly established Schwarzenegger Institute for State and Global Policy.

Staudt earned a bachelor’s degree from Ohio State University, a law degree from the University of Minnesota Law School, and a doctorate in public policy from the University of Chicago.Prior to joining the USC faculty in 2011, Staudt was a law professor at Northwestern University. She was also previously on the faculty at the University of Buffalo School of Law. Prior to her academic appointments, she was a tax associate at Morrison & Foerster in San Francisco; she clerked for the Honorable John T. Noonan on the 9th U.S. Circuit Court of Appeals in San Francisco.

Nancy Staudt’s partner, Lee Epstein, PhD, Provost Professor of Law and Public Policy at USC, also will rejoin WUSTL as a university professor.